The 2020 European Football Championship refers to the 2020 European Football Championship. The 13 host cities for the 2020 European Football Championship have been announced. Among them, England is the most anticipated. The final and two semi-finals will be held at Wembley Stadium in London.

On January 25, 2013, at a meeting held by UEFA, the UEFA Committee confirmed that the 2020 European Cup finals will be held in 13 cities in 12 countries.

UEFA held a meeting in Nyon, Switzerland. Chairman Platini once again proposed the concept of Europeanization of the European Cup. The main contents are as follows:

1. The competition will be divided into 13 places, of which 12 places are responsible for 3 group matches + 1 knockout match (top 16 or top 8), and one city is responsible for the last two semi-finals and the final.

2. Each region (Football Association) is allowed at most one host city. Each region (Football Association) will only use one stadium in the finals. The venues for the semi-finals and finals are the same.

3. Each football association can propose 1-2 bid cities, one to compete for ordinary competitions (group stage + early knockout), and the other to compete for the right to host the semi-finals and finals.

Venue requirements

UEFA also announced the requirements for venues.

1. The semi-finals/finals require a capacity of more than 70,000;

2. The quarter-finals require a capacity of more than 60,000;

3. The required capacity for the 1/8 finals and group matches is over 50,000;

host city

On September 19, 2014, UEFA announced in Geneva that the 13 host cities for the 2020 European Football Championship were announced. Among them, England received the most attention. The final and two semi-finals will be held at Wembley Stadium in London. held.

UEFA also announced on the same day that Baku in Azerbaijan, Munich in Germany, Rome in Italy and St. Petersburg in Russia will host the quarter-finals, as well as three group matches each.

In addition, Brussels (Belgium), Copenhagen (Denmark), Budapest (Hungary), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Dublin (Ireland), Bucharest (Romania), Glasgow (Scotland) and Bilbao (Spain) will host the group stage and knockout stages.

The 13 host cities announced that day were selected from 19 bid cities. According to the decision of the UEFA Executive Committee, the 2020 European Championship will not be limited to the location of a certain UEFA member association, but will be co-hosted by 13 cities across different European countries and regions. Judging from the final results, the two British football associations, England and Scotland, both successfully bid for the event, and the United Kingdom can be called the biggest winner.

On September 17, 2018, the Russian government approved visa-free entry for spectators of the 2020 European Cup. At the same time, European Cup spectators can enter the cities and suburbs of St. Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast from 0:00 on the day of the game to 12:00 on the next day. Transportation: Free use of electric urban ground transport, suburban rail transport on UEFA lines and the metro.

Host has no privileges

UEFA also announced a very important change. All host teams cannot directly advance to the finals and will participate in the qualifiers.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *